Tag:

book club

Great Summer Reads at the Toledo Library!

Top Librarian Secret:

Best-sellers are SOOO overrated! There are tons of wonderful “mid-list” titles out there that are just waiting to be discovered.

Check these out for some great summer reading options:

The Kiss Quotient by Helen Hoang
Lost Empress : A Novel by Sergio De La Pava
Dear Mrs. Bird by A.J. Pearce
The Lido by Libby Page
The Elizas : A Novel by Sara Shepard

The Kiss Quotient” by Helen Hoang

This is the perfect summer romance novel, with a sunny California setting and an awkward, tender, and utterly sweet romance between its protagonists. Autistic econometrician Stella and vivacious escort Michael are a very unlikely pair, but when she hires him to teach her how to have a relationship, they’re both astonished to develop a powerful personal connection. Michael’s gentle kindness with anxious, wary Stella will melt any reader’s heart.

Lost Empress” by Sergio De La Pava

A madcap, football-obsessed tale of crossed destinies and criminal plots gone awry, this novel cleverly weaves together a sports drama and a crime story, starring a manipulative mastermind, all told in a style that might best be described as a series of trick plays, fictional feints, and philosophical asides.

Dear Mrs. Bird” by A.J. Pearce

An irresistible debut set in London during World War II about an adventurous young woman who becomes a secret advice columnist— a warm, funny, and enormously moving story for fans of “The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.”

The Lido” by Libby Page

In the tradition of Fredrik Backman’s “A Man Called Ove,” “The Lido” is a charming, feel-good novel that follows two women at the opposite ends of life bonding over the closure of a beloved local pool —an irresistible tale of love, loss, aging, and friendship.

The Elizas” by Sara Shepard

Unable to convince anyone that she was pushed before she was rescued from the bottom of a hotel pool, a rising author struggling with depression and memory loss begins to question her sanity as elements from her debut novel mix up with events in her real life. By the best-selling author of “Pretty Little Liars.”


Don’t see what appeals to you here?

Try out our Give 3 Give 3 service for personalized suggestions.

FacebookTwitterEmail
Spend 2018 at the Library!

Spend the New Year with us! We have the resources, materials and programs to help you achieve your New Year’s resolutions and so much more. If you’re still searching for some focus in 2018, check out our partner blog A Year Of, featuring a list of memoirs from authors who spent a year doing some creative and inspiring things!

At the Library, you can:

– Learn how to save money
– Improve your health and wellness
– Make new friends
– Find a new job
– Learn to use your new device
– Ace the school year
– Discover a new hobby

The Library events listed below run from January – March 2018.

Save Money
Why pay for monthly video or music streaming services when you can stream them for free using your library card? Access thousands of TV shows, movies, and music through hoopla and Overdrive – You can even download Kindle Books!

Contact our Business, Technology and Sciences Department at 419.259.5209 to learn more about our Living Better Spending Smarter program.

Subscribe to our Read/Watch/Listen list on investing for ongoing book recommendations!

Improve Health & Wellness
Have you resolved to improve your health in 2018? Let’s do it together! We’re offering adult yoga and meditation classes on Jan. 20 and 27, Feb. 3 and 10 and March 10.

Learn about healthy eating at Open Book with Whole30 author Melissa Hartwig on Jan. 9 or join us at one of our Cooking for 1 or 2 programs on Jan. 23, Feb. 2, and March 6, 14 and  26.

Subscribe to our many Read/Watch/Listen lists for ongoing book recommendations on topics including cooking, fitness and self-help!

Make New Friends
Start the New Year by making new friends! We are connecting people who share a love of things like reading, cooking, science fiction, crocheting and knitting and more with groups that meet regularly. See a list of our ongoing groups at ToledoLibrary.org/librarygroups.

We host regular book groups at our Birmingham, Heatherdowns, Holland, Kent, Maumee, Oregon, Point Place, Reynolds Corners, Sanger, Sylvania (currently at King Road), Waterville and West Toledo Locations.

Additionally, we offer adult groups on the following topics and locations: baseball (Sanger), cooking (Waterville), crocheting and knitting (West Toledo), English as a second language (King Road), mysteries (Sanger), science fiction (West Toledo) and writing (Point Place). Contact each location for more details.

Find a New Job
Do you want to start the New Year with a new job? We’re a great place to start on your road to looking for a new career. We can help you with email, online job search and application, how to create and update your resume and more.

At Main Library and Kent Branch, we offer one-on-one meetings to help you get ahead. Our Mobile Technology Center will also provide assistance (by request) at area shopping centers. To make an appointment, call Main Library, Kent Branch or contact Outreach Services at 419.259.5350 for the Mobile Technology Center.

Learn to Use Your New Device
Did you get a new tablet, phone or laptop over the holidays? If you need help learning how to make the most of it, visit our Audio Visual Department at Main Library every Tuesday at 2 p.m. for walk-in device advice!

We also offer a variety of technology training programs on everything from computer basics for beginners to more specific help sessions on programs like Google Docs.

Visit our events calendar for upcoming programs.

Ace the School Year
Does your student need some help making the grade? Join us at our Homework Help Centers, available at 14 of our 20 locations.

View the schedule on our Education page.

Our many educational online databases can also provide help with early literacy, homework, reading, test prep, career, business, science and technology.

Discover a New Hobby
Learn a new hobby or craft in 2018! Learn on your own through book tutorials – check out ongoing recommendations found on our Arts, Crafts and Hobbies Read/Watch/Listen list or join us at one or more of the following craft programs:

Cricut Crafts – Jan. 10 | 6:30 p.m. | Oregon Branch
Yarn-It! – Jan. 19 | 4 p.m. | Oregon Branch
Cake Decorating Workshop – Jan. 29 | 6 p.m. | Waterville Branch
Design Basics (business cards) –  Feb. 3 | 2 p.m. | King Road Branch

We always have new programs popping up, so visit our online events calendar for more future fun!

Originally posted at http://www.toledolibrary.org/blog/start-the-new-year-with-yoga-at-the-library by Toledo Lucas County Public Library blogger Heather H.

FacebookTwitterEmail